Classification of authorities

Rural – authorities with a predominantly rural composition	Carmarthenshire Ceredigion Conwy Denbighshire Gwynedd Isle of Anglesey Monmouthshire Pembrokeshire Powys
Urban – the most heavily populated areas	Cardiff Newport Swansea
Valley – populated areas confined by a unique physical environment.	Blaenau Gwent Caerphilly Merthyr Tydfil Rhondda Cynon Taf Torfaen
Other – authorities which contain a mixture of rural and urban characteristics	Bridgend Flintshire Neath Port Talbot Vale of Glamorgan Wrexham